SPARK by Brooklyn Children's Museum in DUMBO

Upcoming Scheduled Workshops

April 2018 Drop-In Play

Celebrate our Earth at SPARK as we create awareness and appreciation of our planet. Activities invite young artists to build fine motor skills, explore artmaking materials, and learn how to make new friends in a communal play space. April programs focus on self-guided play with the goal of strengthening kids’ connection to nature and deepening their respect for our fragile environment.

Saturday, April 7 – Sunday, April 8
Mixed-Media Rain Clouds
April Showers Bring May Flowers! Celebrate the spring season with mixed media rain clouds!

Saturday, April 14 – Sunday, April 15
Fantasy Aquariums
Design your own aquarium with fish stickers, stamps, and drawing tools.

Saturday, April 21 – Sunday, April 22
Upcycled Tree Sculptures
Celebrate Earth Day by creating a handprint tree with recycled cardboard tubes and painted paper.

Saturday, April 28 – April 29
Tie-dyed Flowers
Explore color mixing by dripping watercolor with droppers on color diffusing paper to make a beautiful spring flower!


May 2018 Special Events

Lift Off! Brooklyn Bridge Park Kite Festival

Saturday, May 5th, 2018
12-2:30pm, Pier 1

Join SPARK by Brooklyn Children’s Museum for this free family festival celebrating the season! Soak up the sun and make a colorful hand kite from a variety of textiles and recycled materials with your child to leap, twirl, and fly into spring! Learn about Spark’s early childhood classes and fun drop-in play hours, and get a discount admission coupon for your next visit.; no-advanced registration required.


May 2018 Drop-In Play

Join in the following drop-in art projects and play opportunities taking place on May weekends in our studio. Activities invite young artists to build fine motor skills, explore artmaking materials, and learn how to make new friends in a communal play space. Feel the spring vibes at SPARK as we soak up the sun and celebrate the warmer weather. Hooray for spring!

Saturday, May 5 – Sunday, May 6
G is for Grass!
Celebrate the grass that grows in spring by creating a masterpiece using different shades of the color green.

Saturday, May 12 – Sunday, May 13
Flower Embossed Stationery
Make a card for someone special with paper, textured embossing plates, and drawing tools.

Saturday, May 19 – Sunday, May 20
Stained Glass Kites
Decorate your window with a colorful tissue paper kite to celebrate the beautiful warm weather!

Saturday, May 26 – Sunday, May 27
Build A Sailboat
Sail into summer with your very own floating boat crafted out of sponges, paper, and fabric. Then watch your wonderful creation float!

All programs subject to change.